325 Washington St., Suite 302, Waukegan, IL 60085
Search
Salvi & Maher, L.L.C.

Call Us847-662-3303

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Youtube

Hablamos Español

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in drunk driving crash

Posted on in Drunk Driving Accidents

Lake County drunk driving accident lawyer

Here in the state of Illinois, every year, thousands of drivers make the reckless and dangerous decision to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Drinking during or prior to operating a motor vehicle can severely impact a person’s reaction time, vision, and decision-making. Due to the inherent dangers of drunk driving, law enforcement officers throughout the state are constantly on the lookout for inebriated drivers. 

If you or a loved one were injured in a collision with a drunk driver, you deserve injury compensation for any medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. In the event of an accident, speak with an attorney immediately. 

...

Illinois personal injury lawyer, Illinois wrongful death attorney, Illinois car accident lawyer,The Illinois State Police report that the average college student spends more money on alcohol than they spend on books. That fact alone is enough to bring anyone’s attention to the alarming nature of drunk driving accident statistics. They also report that drivers under the age of 21 are involved in 17 percent of alcohol-related fatal crashes. Those drivers represent only 10 percent of licensed drivers in the state of Illinois, but the fatalities, injuries, and disabilities they cause due to driving under the influence are life-altering and irreversible.

Parental Involvement

It should go without saying that parents should not allow underage adults to drink alcohol, but sadly it is a common occurrence for parents to allow those under 21 to drink under their supervision at home. Some parents even go so far as to hide and defend the underage drinker when they are caught driving. Illinois already has a Zero Tolerance law in place for underage drinking and driving, but parents should be aware that the state considers it a Class 4 felony when a parent knowingly allows an underage person to consume alcohol. This type of felony can mean one to three years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.00. If you take zero responsibility for allowing a minor to drink, Illinois State Police will enforce zero tolerance on your actions when it comes time to address the felony. Are There Any Exceptions?

The Zero Tolerance law went into effect in January of 1995 and strictly enforces its ban on underage drinking and driving, resulting in jail time and driver’s license suspension, regardless of the circumstances surrounding the drunk driving incident. The only exception for minors who consume alcohol and are found driving is for those who drank the alcohol as part of a religious service or ceremony. One other exception is taken into consideration for minors who ingest certain prescribed medications that contain alcohol.

...
Avvo Elite Lawyer 10 Best 2016 ASLA 2017 Nation's Top One Percent American Justice Institute Top 10 Chicago Bar Association DuPage County Bar Association Illinois State Bar Association Kane County Bar Association Illinois Trial Lawyers Association Lake County Bar Association McHenry County Bar Association Workers Compensation Lawyers Association Martindale Hubbell 2018 Martindale Hubbell 2018
Back to Top